Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cataloging Unit Procedures and Policy

Monograph Cataloging (RDA)

 

Field-by-Field Guidelines

Field(s)

Treatment

Fixed Field

The Fixed Field elements are largely unchanged. LDR/18 "Desc: a = AACR2;     i = ISBD (used for RDA)

0xx

Continue to apply current procedures.

040

RDA records are identified by the presence of |e rda in 040;

1xx

The author elements, for both corporate and personal names, are largely unchanged. You may notice a profusion of |e subfields, which are relator terms describing the person or body’s role – for example, author, illustrator, editor, publisher, cartographer. Accept |e on copy unless obviously wrong. The subfield is repeatable, meaning that a name may have multiple terms associated with it; accept as found.  First author mentioned; not compilers or editors; last name first. A compiler "is" the author of an index or bibliography however.

The “rule of three” has been repealed, meaning there will be an increase in the number of access points provided in some records.

 RDA allows main entry of a later edition under the first author of the earlier edition, when the order of names in the statement of responsibility changes.

Ex.: 1001 Hall, Melinda Gann, ǂe author.

         1001 Becker, Gary S. ǂq (Gary Stanley), ǂd 1930-2014

245

Title field is largely unchanged, but the GMD (subfield |h) is no longer included.

 Titles may use all capital letters or upper and lower case. It is preferable to normalize them to upper and lower case. The title field should match what is on the title page of the book

Ex.: 24510Attacking judges : ǂb how campaign advertising influences state supreme court elections / ǂc Melinda Gann Hall.

250

Transcribe as found (do not abbreviate or convert numerals)

Edition field--this information should follow what is stated in the work:

Ex.: 250 ##Third edition.

12th edition.

4th edition revised and enlarged.

 Fourth edition, revised and enlarged.

260

Field 260 may not be present in RDA copy. It’s probably still a valid record. 260 has been replaced by 264..

264

Field 264 is used in RDA records instead of field 260 as the home of publication, distribution, manufacturing, and copyright information.

The field will resemble 260, and subfields |a, |b, and |c contain the same types of information.

Second indicator values distinguish between production, publication, distribution, and manufacture statements, and copyright dates. Each type of statement appears in a separate 264 field.

·        We no longer use “S.n.” or “s.l.”; use “[Place of publication not identified]” etc.

Field

1st ind.

2nd ind.

Subfields

Function

264

Blank

0

a

Place of production

Production

 

b

Name of producer

 

 

 

 

c

Date of production

 

264

Blank

1

a

Place of publication

Publication

 

b

Name of publisher

 

 

 

 

c

Date of publication

 

264

Blank

2

a

Place of distribution

Distribution

 

b

Name of distributor

 

 

 

 

c

Date of distribution

 

264

Blank

3

a

Place of manufacture

Manufacture

 

b

Name of manufacturer

 

 

 

c

Date of manufacture

 

264

Blank

4

c

Copyright notice date

Copyright

·         

Examples:

264   0 [Denver, Colorado?] : ‡b [producer not identified], ‡c [1940?]

264 _ 1 $a New York : $b Neal-Schuman Publishers, Inc., $c [2010]

264 _ 4 $c ©2010

264 #1 University Park, PA :|bThe Pennsylvania State University,|c 2012.

264 #1 Boston :|b[publisher not identified],|c2010.
264 #3 Cambridge [Mass.] :|bKinsey Printing Company

Transcribe the date in Roman numerals if that is the way it appears on the publication

264# 1 Calgary, Alberta : ǂb Rodeo Press, ǂc MMVIX [2009]

Comparison: Form of dates in publication fields (examples from Adam Schiff, University of Washington)

AACR2 RDA
[1971 or 1972] [1971 or 1972]
[1969?] [1969?]
[between 1906 and 1912]
[between 1906 and 1912]
[ca. 1960] [1960?]
[197-] [between 1970 and 1979]
[197-?] [between 1970 and 1979?]
[18--] [between 1800 and 1899]
[18--?] [between 1800 and 1899?]
[not after Aug. 21, 1492] [not after August 21, 1492]
  [not before April 22, 2010]

 

300

Pagination--all abbreviations are spelled out, but the punctuation is the same Centimeters is consider a symbol and is not spelled out Centimeters (cm) gets a period at the end of the 300, but does not get a period if in the middle of text

Ex.:

300 ## 225 pages :|billustrations, maps ;|c21 cm.

300 ## 3 volumes in 1 ; ǂc 30 cm

300 1 volume (various pagings) : ǂb illustrations, charts ; ǂc 28 cm 300 342 pages ; ǂc 25 cm.

300 xxv, 267 pages : ǂb illustrations (some color) ; ǂc 22 cm.

300 xix, 193 pages : ǂb color illustrations ; ǂc 29 cm.

336
337
338

The GMD (245 |h) has been replaced by three new fields:

·        Field 336 (Content Type) contains terms and/or codes describing the content of the resource.

·        Field 337 (Media Type) contains terms and/or codes describing how information is stored on the resource.

·        Field 338 (Carrier Type) contains terms and/or codes describing the physical format of the resource.

These fields are repeatable and may be used to describe accompanying material as well as the main item. Accept as found unless obviously wrong.

Examples:

(print book)
336 ## text|btxt|2rdacontent
337 ## unmediated|bn|2 rdamedia
338 ## volume|bnc|2rdacarrier

(e-book)
336 ## text|btxt|2rdacontent
337 ## computer|bc|2rdamedia
338 ## online resource|bcr|2rdacarrier

(audio disc)
336 ## spoken word ǂb spw ǂ2 rdacontent
337 ## audio ǂb s ǂ2 rdamedia
338 ## audio disc|bsd|2rdacarrier

4xx

Field 490 includes the series title transcribed from the item; there is no significant change in how these are handled, except that the series numbering is recorded as it appears on the resource (spelled out or abbreviated). Continue to apply current procedures.

5xx

There are no significant changes in the key 5XX fields; verify, accept, or add as usual.

504 Includes bibliographical references and index.

Pages is spelled out:

504 Includes bibliographical references (pages 434-512).

6xx

There are no significant changes in subject fields.

 

Ex.:

655 7Outlines, syllabi, etc. ǂ2 lcgft

7xx

The added entries are largely unchanged; as in 1XX, expect an increase in relator terms in |e. Accept on copy unless obviously wrong.

8xx

The 8XX includes the authorized form of the series title; there is no significant change in how these are handled. Continue to apply current procedures.