Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cataloging Unit Procedures and Policy

Withdrawal Procedures

 Preface:

Books are put on the range of shelves marked Withdrawals by shelf-readers to be withdrawn from the collection.  The person who is withdrawing these books should follow the following steps:

Search the Millennium Cataloging or Acquisitions module by barcode and/or title and/or call number.

Make sure the item in hand should indeed be withdrawn.

               If there is no volume that is replacing the volume in hand do not delete the item record.  Bring the volume to the attention of a Technical Services librarian.

               If there are item records for the previous editions and the item to be withdrawn is last year’s, do not delete the item record.  Bring it to a T.S. librarian’s attention.

 

Serials Withdrawal Procedure:

If the volume in hand is a serial (i.e., there is a check-in record attached, or the order record indicates the FORM is either “p” for periodical or “s” for serial, etc.) and it can safely be withdrawn:

1.      Delete the item record

2.      If there are other records (order, check-in, item) attached to the bibliographic record, close bibliographic record and go on to next title.

3.      If there are other order or check-in record, but no more item records:

(a)   Open bibliographic record in Edit mode

(b)   Suppress bibliographic records by changing BCODE3 from 0 to Y

(c)    Insert 910 field at the end of the bib record,

(d)   Put the cursor in the 910 field where you want to insert the substitution phrase and right-click your mouse. From the popup menu, choose Substitution phrases. In the dialog that displays, select the phrase:  All items WD; OCLC holdings deleted.  PAC record suppressed until order or check-in record is deleted, click on <USE>, key your initials and date, save the record.

(e)   note the OCLC Number (identified in the bibliographic records by the name:  “OCLC Number” or the MARC record’s field “001”

(f)    Search this title in OCLC Connexion Client by OCLC number.  Be sure the record is for our title.

(g)   Delete ZNL holdings by clicking on Delete Holding icon or <shift F8>, or select Delete Holdings from the Action menu tab.

4.    If there are no other records attached to the bibliographic record, print out the bibliographic record, delete the bibliographic record, and delete our holdings from OCLC, as above (no. g)

5.    Tally the number of serial items withdrawn. Tally separately from monographs and give total to Harold.

6.   Cross out the call number and the barcode on the volume.

7.  Stamp the volume along one of its edges with the “Withdrawn” stamp.

 

Monographs Withdrawal Procedure

If the volume in hand is a monograph (i.e., there is no check-in record; the order record indicates the FORM is “b,” etc.) and you are NOT withdrawing all of the item records:

1.      Delete the item record

2.      If there are other records (order, item) attached to the bibliographic record, close bibliographic record and go on to next title.

3.      If there are other order record, but no more item records: follow Serials Withdrawal Procedure no.3 (a-g)

4.      If there are no other records attached to the bibliographic record, print out the bibliographic record, delete the bibliographic record, and delete our holdings from OCLC, as above (no. g)

5.      Tally the number of monograph items withdrawn, and bibliographic records withdrawn.

6.      Cross out the call # and the barcode number on the volume

7.      Stamp the volume along one of its edges with the “Withdrawn” stamp.