Resources for free or low cost legal research, providing a great way to get started with research if you don't have access to paid databases or if you want to get an overview of a topic before using potentially expensive searches.
A guide to free online primary legal materials, organized by state. The guide includes information on state session laws, statutory codes, registers, administrative codes, and court opinions. Also included is information on state and local public law libraries.
An open access database that monitors current legislation in all 50 states, as well as the U.S. Congress. The database will track state legislation and provide a list of the most viewed and monitored bills as well as an overview of past legislative sessions. You can also browse Congressional bills by House and Senate and by their current status. Registration is free to use the GAITS tracking platform and API data service. LegiScan provides expanded subscription options for both product lines.
The State Legislative Websites Directory contains information gleaned from the home pages and websites of the 50 state legislatures, the District of Columbia and the territories. You can select to view specific website content materials (such as, bills, press rooms, statutes) from one state at a time.
A free resource that provides more than 3,200 municipal codes. The side panel table of contents feature makes each code easy to browse and the changes function lets you see what sections have been recently edited.