Free & Low Cost Legal Research

The daily publication of the federal government’s administrative branch for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. Includes a blog, as well as electronic delivery and social media options for specific subjects. You can subscribe to daily email updates of the table of contents.

Provided by publisher William S. Hein & Co., Inc. through an agreement with the Library of Congress.
Coverage: v. 1-58 (1936-1993)

Browse the Federal Register by year (1936 - present) or conduct an advanced search. Also provides access to today's issue of the Federal Register.
Coverage: 1936 - Present

Find, read and comment on proposed regulations.

A finding tool for federal publications providing direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keyword. More options are available through the "Advanced Search" feature. The catalog also offers you the option to find a nearby Federal Depository Library that has a particular publication.

A service of the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications which functions as a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.

An online collection of administrative decisions and other actions by federal agencies, indexed by agency as well as by subject.

The official handbook of the Federal Government. "Provides comprehensive and authoritative information on the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and Federal boards, commissions, and committees."

The official website of the White House. It provides information about the current administration, the executive office of the President, a briefing room and Presidential documents including executive orders, presidential memoranda, and proclamations. Prior administration websites are archived by the National Archives.

This website, which is based at the University of California Santa Barbara, collects documents, statistics, media, analysis and commentary related to the American Presidency. The collection includes inaugural addresses, executive orders and proclamations, and more.

The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.

Contains the papers and speeches of the President of the United States that were issued by the Office of the Press Secretary during the specified time period. Material is presented in chronological order. Discontinued as of December 2022.