Case Law - General Sources - Free & Low Cost Legal Research - LibGuides at New York Law School

General Sources for Case Law

Cornell Legal Information Institute (LII) This link opens in a new window
Access to Supreme Court cases from 1990 and selected "Historic Decisions."

Casetext
Casetext offers full coverage of all 50-state and federal cases, statutes, regulations, and rules. Also included is access to CARA A.I., the document analyzer tool that finds on-point cases based on your matter. Offers a free 14 day trial (no CC required) and a basic research subscription at $110/month. Access to Casetext's new CoCounsel would not be included in the Basic Research subscription but can be purchased on demand.
Fastcase
Fastcase offers online legal research service with powerful searching and data visualization tools and comprehensive legal databases. The Fastcase library includes primary law (case law and statutes), legal blogs, law review articles, briefs, pleadings, expert witness databases, analytics, and secondary treatises (Aspen, CCH & James Publishing) . Fastcase also provides access to law review articles through its partnership with HeinOnline. Many bar associations offer access to Fastcase as part of their membership benefits. All New York State Bar Association members receive free access to the following libraries on Fastcase: N.Y. Court of Appeals, Appellate Division Decisions, Misc. Decisions, N.Y. Consolidated Laws, N.Y.C.R.R., N.Y.S. Constitution, U.S. Code, 2d Circuit Decisions, and Supreme Court Decisions. Monthly subscriptions begin at $65/month.

FindLaw.com for Legal Professionals This link opens in a new window
Although you can find U.S. Supreme Court decisions back to 1893, dates of coverage for other federal decisions and for state decisions varies.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Free access to legal cases including a corresponding citation for each case. Coverage includes U.S. state appellate and supreme court cases since 1950, U.S. federal district, appellate, tax and bankruptcy courts since 1923 and U.S. Supreme Court cases since 1791. Also includes citations for cases cited by indexed opinions or journal articles. Google Scholar makes no guarantees regarding currency and is most likely not as current as other paid subscription databases.
Justia This link opens in a new window
A for-profit company that makes available, for free, a large volume of federal and state legal material, including both case law and statutes. Dates of coverage vary.

LawPipe
Free access to over 70,000 case briefs. Updated monthly.
Caselaw Access Project
The Caselaw Access Project (CAP) includes all official, book-published state and federal United States case law, digitized from the Harvard Law Library collection.

Fastcase App
A free, searchable library of cases and statutes. Available for iOS and Android devices.