LibGuides: Free & Low Cost Legal Research: Law Review Articles and Other Special Sources

New York Law School Digital Commons

New York Law School’s Digital Commons is an online repository designed to provide open access to the research, scholarship and intellectual product of the entire NYLS community. Along with preserving that material, the repository will provide a permanent home to a growing collection of material documenting our institutional history.

Digital Commons @ NYLS This link opens in a new window

Law Review Articles and Other Special Sources

ABA - Free Full-Text Online Law Review / Journal Search This link opens in a new window
Includes the full-text of over 300 online law reviews and law journals, as well as document repositories hosting academic papers and related publications such as Congressional Research Service reports. Coverage varies.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for journal and conference papers, theses and dissertations, academic books, pre-prints, abstracts, technical reports and other scholarly literature.
Law Review Commons This link opens in a new window
The Law Review Commons provides full text access to over 120,000 articles. Combines law review and law journals uploaded by law schools which use the Digital Commons platform. Filter results by discipline, institution, keyword, publication year, publication, publication type, or file type.
Legal Information Institute [LII] - Wex This link opens in a new window
A free legal dictionary and encyclopedia. Entries are collaboratively created and edited by legal experts.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Searchable access to electronic and freely accessible theses and dissertations from around the world.

National Library of Medicine – PubMed
More than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Hathi Trust
Not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items including books, serials and government documents. Items in the public domain are fully accessible while items held in copyright are searchable.

Historical Information and Archives

American Memory Project
"American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress’s vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library."
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875
Avalon Project
Provided by Yale Law School, an excellent collection of documents in law, history, economics, politics, government, and diplomacy.

Statistical Information

Statistical Abstract of the United States
1889-2010
The U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011. The Statistical Compendia program is comprised of the Statistical Abstract of the United States and its supplemental products.
National Center for State Courts (Court Statistics Project)
Collects and analyzes data from all state courts.

Think Tanks

Harvard Kennedy School Think Tank Search
Includes a list of U.S. and non-U.S. think tanks and a "Think Tank Search," a Google Custom Search of more than 1200 think tanks and research centers.