Resources for free or low cost legal research, providing a great way to get started with research if you don't have access to paid databases or if you want to get an overview of a topic before using potentially expensive searches.
Contains links to Comprehensive Legal Resources, Federal Legal Resources, New York State Court Resources, New York State Agency Resources, New York State Legislative Resources, New York City and Other Local Sites, Ethics Resources, and Miscellaneous Resources.
Specifically, links to Criminal Jury Instructions 2d, links to the rules of various state courts, and to Excelsior, a catalog of state government documents.
New York Online Virtual Electronic Library - Provides New York State residents access to information 24 hours a day, 7 days a week from their desktop. Offers access to a wide variety of resources including books, magazines, newspapers, research and reference sources, and more.
Specifically, available databases include Academic OneFile containing peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources and various newspaper databases providing full-text of several New York newspapers, the indexing of America's top five newspapers, and articles from newspapers around New York State, including Glens Falls Post-Star, New York Times, New York Observer, New York Post, and Newsday.
Remote access to NYS Library databases available to registered borrowers with a valid Borrower Card (Beginning with “P”) and PIN. Attorneys who are NYS residents can apply for a NYS Library Attorney Borrower's Card (beginning with “P”)
Available databases include ABI/INFORM Collection, JSTOR - Arts and Sciences Collection, JSTOR - Sciences, New York Times - Historical, Newsbank, and PsycInfo.
Remote access to NYS Library electronic databases and E-Journals and E-Books available to registered borrowers with a valid Borrower Card (beginning with “P”) and PIN. Attorneys who are NYS residents can apply for a NYS Library Attorney Borrower's Card (beginning with “P”)
Not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items including books, serials and government documents. Items in the public domain are fully accessible while items held in copyright are searchable.