Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law Review Guide to the Mendik Library

Bookstacks (The Main Collection)

The bulk of our general law and non-law holdings can be found in the "BOOK STACKS." Arranged by Call Number, this collection is housed on:

L2: Call Numbers KF1 – KF1499

L3: Call Numbers KF1500 – KF9999

L4: Call Numbers A – KE and KFA - Z

Reserve Collection

RESERVE

The Reserve Collection, located behind the Reference Desk, contains required course materials, heavily used treatises and recent  legal newspapers.

Government Documents (Documents)

Since 1980, NYLS Library has been designated a selective depository within the Federal Depository Library Program. Our collection is predominantly focused on law-related items, including congressional materials (debates, hearings, reports, prints and documents); federal administrative agency decisions; federal agency regulations (C.F.R. and F.R.); U.S. Supreme Court decisions; presidential papers and documents; and publications of key government agencies (such as the Department of Justice, the Department of State, the IRS, the GAO and the International Trade Commission).

Excepting of some Congressional Documents, which can be searched through the online indexes produced by ProQuest Congressional, to which we subscribe, our depository documents are searchable through the OPAC.

While much of the collection is in microform in L200, the library subscribes to the Readex U.S. Congressional Serial Set (currently covering 1817 – 1994).

Located in stacks L201 and L202 is a comprehensive collection of publications that serve as finding aids for the government documents. The Government Documents Librarian is also available to assist patrons in using this collection during scheduled hours.

 

Microforms

Along with the microform readers / printers, this collection is found in Room L200. Especially well represented here are congressional materials, retrospective holdings of legal periodical titles, and legal newspapers (including the New York Law Journal). The Guide to Microform Collections, a Library publication, lists the cabinet locations of all microform sets. Copies of this guide are kept at the Reference Desk. You may also access the Guide to Microform Collections on-line by going to the Library portion of the NYLS Intranet and selecting Research Links and then choosing Guides & Outlines.

Periodicals

The Library’s print periodicals can be found in the Compact Shelving Room (L400).