Search Engines
Legislative, Regulatory and Administrative MaterialsNew York City Materials
Legislative MaterialRegulatory and Administrative MaterialsCourt Dockets, Rules, Forms, and BriefsOther Supreme Court Materials
This is the "Home" page of the "Free & Low Cost Legal Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Free & Low Cost Legal Research  

Last Updated: Dec 20, 2013 URL: http://libguides.nyls.edu/lowcostlegalresearch Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

DRAGNET

DRAGNET stands for "Database Retrieval Access using Google's New Electronic Technology," a specialized search engine that was developed by librarians at New York Law School.

This feature enables you to "drag the net" through a group of free law-related Web resources.  A DRAGNET search is like a Google search, except that it runs in only a select group of websites.  The sites were chosen by our Library staff for their reliability and utility to legal researchers.

 

Site Evaluation

When condcuting legal research on the Internet, it is important to evaluate the source of the information you intend to rely on. 

Accuracy & Authority

When evaluating a site for accuracy, look at the source of the material:

  • Who is the author or publisher? 
  • What are the author's credentials?
  • Look at the general accuracy of the site, e.g. does it have obvious errors, is it professional made, etc.

When evaluating the authority of a site:

  • What is the domain name of the site?  Is the website part of a governmental entity, educational, or non-profit organization?
  • Look for "authenticating" indicia, e.g., the GPO Blue Eagle.
  • Is there an "about us" or simliar section?  If yes, what does it say?
  • Check for any "disclaimer."
  • Is the site neutral or does it take or support a particular position?  For example, check out the Institute for Historical Review on Wikipedia!

Be sure to verify the information you intend to rely upon.  Check the authorities cited or linked to and search for the same information in other sources. 

Currency & Coverage

  • When was the site last updated?
  • How often is the site updated?
  • What time period does the source cover?  What jurisdiction?
 

Link Rot

Watch for link rot (when web pages go missing).  For more information on link rot see, Breaking Down Link Rot: The Chesapeake Project Legal Information Archive's Examination of URL Stability,  Sarah Rhodes, Published in LLRX on March 1, 2011.

If a web page goes missing, try referring to the following resources:

Wayback Machine (via the Internet Archive):  The Internet Archive Wayback Machine puts the history of the World Wide Web at your fingertips. The Archive contains over 100 terabytes and 10 billion web pages archived from 1996 to the present.

Cyber CemeteryThe CyberCemetery is an archive of government websites that have ceased operation (usually websites of defunct government agencies and commissions that have issued a final report). It features a variety of topics indicative of the broad nature of government information.

 

 

Contact the Library

The Mendik Library | New York Law School
185 West Broadway, New York, NY 10013
Contact Information: Reference Desk | Circulation | AIM: NYLSLIB | GoogleTalk:NYLSLIB Yahoo: NYLSLIB | 212.431.2332 | SMS: 917.300.1933
Facebook | Mobile site
 

Tools To Aid in Your Evaluation

  • Use common sense!

  • Evaluate the importance of the research you are conducting to help determine how careful you should be when assessing the accuracy of a site.

  • Discover more about the website you are viewing, including who owns the site, utilizing:  Fagan Finder URL info, Domain Tools, or Better Whois

  • Use the following Google Advanced Search to find out who is linking to the website you are viewing:  "link: Type website URL here"

Other Free & Low-Cost Legal Research Guides

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip