Free & Low Cost Legal Research

Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER) is an electronic public access service that allows users to obtain (for a fee) case and docket information from federal appellate, district and bankruptcy courts. Also includes the PACER Case Locator, a national index for U.S. District, Bankruptcy, and Appellate courts.

The RECAP Archive is a searchable collection of millions of PACER documents and dockets that were gathered using the RECAP Extensions for Firefox, Chrome and Safari. RECAP users who download a plug-in for Mozilla Firefox or Chrome automatically donate the documents they purchase from PACER into a public repository. These documents can then be accessed by other users via RECAP eliminating the need to purchase the documents from PACER. Note that the creators of RECAP cannot guarantee all documents are authentic.

Provides basic docket information and the option to access additional information about the case on the US Court's PACER system. Search by party name, judge, court, or type of lawsuit.

Includes court locations and telephone numbers; federal rules and forms in effect, information on the rule-making process (including proposed and pending rules amendments), and historical and archival records; biographical directory of federal judges; statistics;links to standard forms used in the U.S. Courts; listings of court fees; and various educational resources.

Access to Supreme Court dockets, oral arguments, briefs, court rules, opinions, and orders. In addition, the website provides information about the Supreme Court including biographies of current Justices of the Supreme Court.