Labor and Employment

A publication from the ABA and Bloomberg Law, the publication provides concise and clear rules and analysis on issues specific to the employment relationship, including contracts, termination, compensation, benefits, tort liability, wrongful discharge in violation of public policy, defamation, wrongful interference, misrepresentation, autonomy, privacy, employee obligations, restrictive covenants, and remedies.
Bloomberg Law (ID and password required)

A comprehensive reference on employment law, containing sections of topically organized legal analysis, the equivalent of 15 print volumes. Monthly updates provide a clear and practical understanding of federal and state employment law in six key areas: benefits, compensation, employment practices, labor relations, personnel policy and administration, and workplace safety.
Westlaw (ID and password required)

This hornbook covers establishing the employment relationship; Discrimination: race, national origin, sex, religion and age; disability; wages, hours, and benefits; conditions of employment; occupational safety and health; workers' compensation; covenants not to compete and related issues; discharge; bankruptcy; Plant closings; unemployment compensation; and retirement.

Includes the Employee Relations Guide, Fair Employment Practices-Civil Rights Law, Cost-of-Living Index, Wages and Hours, Labor Relations, and Occupational Safety and Health as well as a Benefits section focusing on topics such as the Family and Medical Leave Act and the Employee Retirement Income Security Act.
Westlaw (ID and password required)

Provides comprehensive coverage, both federal and state, from A to Z, in one resource. It includes analysis on all aspects of labor and employment law, such as union elections and sexual harassment, to lesser understood subjects like employment arbitration, wage and hour law, and employee privacy.
Lexis (ID and password required)

Topics include recruitment aspects of social media, employee usage and restrictions, "concerted activity" considerations in the context of the NLRA, and post-termination guidance on social-media-account take-downs. It culminates with sample policies, clauses and checklists.
Lexis (ID and password required)

Here is an overview of employment law which may be a useful supplement to any employment law casebook. The book is divided into seven chapters: who is an employee and who is an employer; analysis of the employment-at-will doctrine and job security claims; privacy, autonomy and dignity; claims that employers may have against employees; employment terms and benefits that are directly mandated by law, like minimum wage, or strongly encouraged or regulated by law, such as pensions; workplace health and safety; and the expanding role of arbitration in the resolution of employment disputes.

This publication provides concise and clear rules and analysis on issues specific to the employment relationship, including contracts, termination, compensation, benefits, tort liability, wrongful discharge in violation of public policy, defamation, wrongful interference, misrepresentation, autonomy, privacy, employee obligations, restrictive covenants, and remedies.
HeinOnline (Access Limited to NYLS community)
Lexis (ID and passwprd required)
Westlaw (ID and password required)

From Carolina Academic Press (CAP), it covers common-law employment doctrines such as employment-at-will, employment contracts, employment torts, workplace privacy issues, and restrictive covenants. Also included are federal and state statutory regulation of the workplace, covering topics such as compensation (including wage and hour legislation and unemployment insurance), employee benefits (including leave time, pensions, and health insurance), and workplace safety legislation.