Law School Lowdown & More

The new second edition explains how law students should approach exams. It uses examples, humor, advice, strategic thinking and problem-solving to create success.

Dear 1L offers a witty, insightful preview of what to expect during 1L. What's more, the writing tips you'll learn come from decades of BigLaw-litigation experience, and they've been "blessed" by thousands of lawyers and law students online.

If you are just beginning law school in a full-time program, you have about 1000 days until you sit for the bar examination-- but you have only 90 days until you sit for your first semester final examinations. Most law students have been anticipating the start of law school for weeks, months or years and includes a wide variety of individuals with differing reasons for attending law school, all intending to succeed. Why do so many first-year law students express high levels of anxiety, depression, isolation, "drowning," a sense of imminent and inevitable failure, intense frustration, lack of control, depression, and ominous foreboding within 90 days of beginning school? Perhaps they have exited positions of academic, social, or executive leadership and may believe the institution they are entering is merely an advanced version of what they were so good at before. Approach law school with the same rigor, detail, planning and strategizing you intend to employ in the professional practice of law.

A guide for first-year law school students who want to achieve academic success. Explains everything they need to know about reading and briefing cases, note-taking, studying for and taking exams. Also covers stress and time management during law school.

This study aid explains that success in law school does not require any special skill or genius. It demonstrates that if students can apply the basic techniques described in this book, they can be in the top 10% of their class. It provides reliable frameworks (backed by cognitive neuroscience) to navigate everything from the first day of law school to the first year of practicing law. It offers frameworks for handling reading assignments, classes, taking exams, and getting on law review—all the way through succeeding as an associate in a law firm.

If students wish to survive and excel in law school, they must approach it correctly. Students also need to understand what professors expect of them, or they will be left behind. Hard-Nosed Advice from a Cranky Professor explains some of the correct ways to approach law school and provides insight into professor expectations.This book is designed for new law students who would like to improve their chances of doing well in law school. Written from the perspective of a cranky, cantankerous professor, the book side-steps pleasantries to provide no-nonsense, sometimes hard-nosed advice that is intended to instruct students on what they must do to succeed. While blunt, the practical advice is provided in a light-hearted, humorous way. The book's aim is to give concise answers to questions that most students have when they begin law school.

Law School Exams is the complete handbook for students who want to significantly improve their performance in law school. It offers practical, top-to-bottom strategy that can be applied to almost any law school exam, regardless of the topic or level.

The ABA and most state bar associations have identified a wellness crisis in the legal profession, and called for educating students on how to better cope with the challenges of law school and practice. At the same time, students must learn how to maximize their brain health so that they perform well in law school and on behalf of their clients in practice. This book aims to help students "do well" in their ability to learn, and "be well" in the process, by exploring the deep connection between brain health and wellness. Topics include: How to cultivate the ability to deeply focus and deal with the challenges of the 24/7 digital age; How stress affects both brain and body; Increasing resilience to help deal with challenges and setbacks; Exercise for mental, physical, and brain health; Adequate sleep and how it can be improved; What we eat affects the brain and one's physical performance. Each chapter ends with a self-reflection exercise to help students take the material and consciously begin implementing its suggestions.

Letter to a One L Friend teaches students how to rise to the top of their law school class. The book began as a letter the author wrote in his final year of law school to a good friend who was just starting. Weaving in anecdotes from his experience as a student, the author presents a simple, proven system for law students to excel.

This book is for entering law students and law school orientation programs about how to study law
Its aim is to provide a practical, prescriptive, and descriptive treatment of the conventional topics and instruction given by law professors about studying law. It covers how lawyers use the law, how the legal system works, how to study, how to read and brief case decisions, how to participate in class, how to prepare course outlines, and how to study for exams and write essay exam answers. It also provides a chapter with pointers about legal research and writing because of the importance of these subjects in the first-year curriculum.

This timeless book provides easy-to-understand advice and helpful exercises to improve legal writing clarity. It also provides innovative ideas on design techniques that are particularly useful for electronic and digital communications.

This new edition of a classic is a great introduction for law school. As the title indicates, Ms. Nygren focuses on “starting off right” in first year class preparation and exam taking skills. She tries to provide students the tools they need to be prepared from the very first day of law school.

Some students recommend reading and re-reading this book. It is hailed for its sound advice on time management, reading cases, and even dealing with law school stress. The author is the Director of Suffolk University Law School’s Academic Support Program, and he routinely deals with a single question from recently admitted students? "What do I need to do to succeed in law school?"