Family Law

An overview of the New York Family Court's organization, administration, and jurisdiction. Significant decisions, rulings, and legislative actions receive special attention. Topics include enforcement and modification of support orders, family offenses and juvenile delinquency, termination of parental rights, adoption and foster care.
Westlaw (ID and password required)

Topics are: Family court, marriage, adoption, guardianship, and surrogacy, parenting contracts, dissolution of marriage, maintenance, agreements, equitable distribution, contested custody, support, and maintenance, domestic violence, paternity, surrogacy and reproductive technology.

Includes forms relating to creation of the marriage relationship, attorney-client relationships, matrimonial agreements, matrimonial litigation. Specific topics include antenuptial agreements, separation agreements, modification agreements, matters relating to infants and incompetents, and service of process. Forms also cover finding of fact and conclusion of law and judgment (with and without children), stipulations of settlement (without children), verified complaint, finding and using an appraiser, order to show cause and various financial affidavits.
Westlaw (ID and pasword required)

This single volume includes 90 detailed, task-oriented checklists, and more than 100 practice pointers on topics such as initial pleadings, jurisdiction, persons in need of supervision (PINS), juvenile delinquency, child and spousal support proceedings, paternity proceedings, termination of parental rights, adoption proceedings, custody and visitation proceedings, family offense proceedings, and child protective proceedings.
Lexis (ID and password required)

Procedurally organized. Find specific answers to questions that arise in day-to-day practice, and includes comprehensive coverage of important recent New York legislation concerning PINS (Persons In Need of Supervision) and permanency of child placement.
Lexis (ID and password requried)
LexisNexis Digital (Access limited to NYLS community)

The multi-volume set covers topics related to jurisdiction, grounds, interim relief, disclosure, valuation, equitable distribution, custody and visitation, spousal and child support, and enforcement of orders and judgments.
LexisNexis Digital (Access limited to NYLS community)
Lexis (ID and password required)

Containing 100 model documents (forms, checklists, instructions, and letters), as well as the text of selected matrimonial statutory provisions, find new rules and procedures for settling attorney fee disputes, the legislative change from fault to no-fault divorce, temporary maintenance, and payment of attorney fees, as well as six retainer agreement letters that conform to the new rules.
Westlaw (ID and password required)

Topics include: Grounds for divorce and annulment. service of papers, jurisdiction and venue, representing the plaintiff and defendant, calendar practice, temporary relief, financial disclosure, distribution of marital property, experts' valuation methods, professional licenses, spousal and child support, tax considerations, child custody and visitation, UCCJA and PKPA, child abuse and neglect, domestic violence, enforcement and modification of money judgments, ohabitation, antenuptial and separation agreements.
LexisNexis Digital (Access limited to NYLS community)
Lexis (ID and password required)

Coverage includes procedures dictated by the Family Court Act, child protection and domestic violence, paternity and adoption, juvenile delinquency, child neglect and abuse proceedings, persons in need of supervision, child custody, visitation, and support, termination of parental rights, child support, the role of counsel, and appeals.
Westlaw (ID and password required)

Find substantive and procedural law governing divorce, separation agreements, equitable distribution, child support and custody, maintenance
enforcement. Also discussed are pensions, taxes, bankruptcy, other financial issues, professional fees and conduct.
Westlaw (ID and password required)

Bridging the gap between a treatise and a benchbook, it discusses the law, cites relevant cases and provides information on exceptions. It includes more than 30 form, about all phases of the process of appearing in court or before hearing examiners, practice notes and recent developments.
Westlaw (ID and password required)