The sample and practice exam archive consists of exams released to the Library by NYLS faculty. Please note that professors are not required to release exams to the Library, and many choose not to do so. Consequently, you may not be able to find an exam for either your class or your professor.
Sample and practice exams are indexed by professor’s name and course taught.
All exams are in Adobe PDF format and are viewed using the free Adobe Acrobat Reader, which has been installed on all PCs in the Library and the Electronic Research Classrooms.
Paper copies of sample and practice exams for the current semester only are kept at the Circulation Desk.
The exam archive is maintained by the Circulation Department. Questions regarding available exams should be directed to Elina Oyola, Circulation Librarian, at 212.431.2148, or by email at: email@example.com.
To access the exam archive on the NYLS Portal:
- Login to the NYLS portal
- On the portal home page, locate the Student Resources drop down menu
- Click on the Exam Archive link
Examples & Explanations study guides. Many of these study guides are available at the Mendik Library and via Google Books. Often, a large portion of the text will be available via preview on Google Books.
Hornbooks and treatises, See NYLS's Treatises by Topic or our New York Treatises by Topic pages.Treatises are works written by legal scholars that provide exhaustive coverage of a legal topic. Links to treatises on Bloomberg Law, LexisNexis and Westlaw take you directly to those services. You’ll need your login credentials to access them.Digital Study Aids Collection, LexisNexis Digital Library
Access helpful LexisNexis Publishing study aids, including the popular Understanding Series as well as the Questions & Answers Series. Borrowing is via the OverDrive platform. These may be accessed via your NYLS network login or by signing in as a campus guest. Read content in a web browser or download to an e-reader app.
Study Aids (Mendik Library research guide)
New York State Bar Exam (NYS Board of Law Examiners): Past Exam Essay Questions with Sample Candidate Answers (2005-2017).
Top 10 Tips for Successfully Writing a Law School Essay
Writing Better Law School Exams: The Importance of Structure
Assessing Your Own Work
Nicole Robin Lefton
Reading Comprehension Strategies for Exams
Nicole Robin Lefton
The Lessons by Casebook suggest CALI Lessons based on where you are in a casebook. See if your casebook is available. Then click your casebook to see which lessons correspond with specific pages in the book.
Barbara Glesner Fines, Law School Materials for Success (eLangdell Press)
The first year of law school is, for many people, one of the most significant transitions of their adult life. Law school demands a lot as it helps you make the transition from your prior identity as student (or as some other occupational role) to your new identity as an attorney. To meet the demands of law school, it is often helpful to have the big picture before you begin – a sense of what it is you are trying to do as you prepare for classes, participate in those classes, review and prepare for exams, take exams, and then begin the cycle once again.Law School Materials for Success is designed to give you the essentials of that process.
These series contain multiple choice questions designed to help students practice for law school exams.
Friedman's practice series. Includes law school essay exams, model answers, and multiple choice questions.
Questions & Answers : Constitutional Law (LexisNexis Digital Library)
Questions & answers : Contracts (LexisNexis Digital Library)
SIEGEL'S SERIES: Essay and Multiple-Choice Questions and Answers
Writing answers to professors’ old final exams is an excellent way for students to prepare for exams. Use these with caution. Your professor may have a different approach to exams. A few law schools/law libraries maintain freely available collections of their school’s exams: