Section 468-a of the NY Judiciary Law and 22 NYCRR Part 118 of the Rules of the Chief Administrator of the Courts require the biennial registration of all attorneys admitted in the State of New York, whether they are resident or non-resident, active or retired, or practicing law in New York or elsewhere. All attorneys are required to renew their attorney registration every two years, within 30 days after their birthday.
As a resident of the state of New York, you have a statutory right to inspect public records using the state's Freedom of Information Law (FOIL). Birth records become available to the general public after 75 years. The State Department of Health maintains indexes of births dating back to 1881 that are available to the general public on microfiche. Copies of the microfiche are available for viewing at various cities located across the state. Birth certificates for births that occurred within the last 75 years are available only to the parents or the person named on the certificate.
This database from the New York State Department of State includes businesses and NDC, limited partnerships, LLCs, LLPs and other miscelllaneous business types. It also includes assumed name filings for corporations, LCCs and LLPs.
For a fee of $95, search criminal records. A search must be an exact match of name and date of birth; variations of name or date of birth are not reported. Results are public records relating to open or pending convictions in criminal cases originating from county, supreme, city, town and village courts in all 62 counties. Sealed records are not disclosed. Family, civil or federal court records are excluded.
More than 270 million records from New York’s colonial and state governments, dating from 1630 to the present, are included. Online access tools help researchers locate and explore the entire collection. The digital collection contains thousands of items ranging from photographs, to maps, to one-of-a-kind documents.
The State Records Unit is the filing office for various records including State and Local laws, Executive Orders issued by the Governor, oaths of office for state officers, designations of deputies by State officers, clemency papers, certificates of appointment of State officers, and commissions of officers appointed by the Governor. Additionally, trademark and service mark registrations, games of chance registrations, and State Notices and Further State Notices are filed with the Unit.
The UCC governs most commercial transactions including the sale of goods between parties. The Department of State maintains UCC Article 9 financing statements and amendments as well as notices of federal tax liens, related notices and certificates. These documents are searchable. Scroll down to the UCC Forms box, click on Forms for UCC 1 and amendments, UCC 3 and amendments, UCC 5 and UCC 11. A fee schedule box is included.