In addition to Lexis+, Westlaw Edge and Bloomberg Law, the Mendik Library provides access to many more databases that are useful in conducting comprehensive legal research. Some of the most frequently used ones are the following:
Comparable in many ways to Lexis and Westlaw, this is a legal research service that offers full-text searchable access to comprehensive libraries of federal and state cases, statutes, constitutions, court rules, administrative regulations, and attorney general opinions. The service includes libraries of newspapers, federal court filings, and legal forms.
A PDF-based collection of law review articles and a wide variety of other legal materials. The service is best known for its Law Journal Library which contains back runs of more than 1,100 journal titles, in most cases beginning with the first issue of each journal. HeinOnline's coverage has expanded to include archival libraries of federal and state primary law, federal legislative histories, U.S. treaties, foreign and international law sources, and classic American law treatises. Coverage continues to expand. Each library is full-text searchable, and search results are PDF files that can be printed and downloaded.
Full-text articles from a thousand academic journals in the arts and sciences, political science, statistics, economics, business, and philosophy, excluding the issues from the last few years. Included articles are searchable in full text, and retrievable in PDF format.
A daily news service that covers high-stakes litigation in a wide variety of practice areas; real-time tracking and reports on thousands companies, firms and industries; and expert analysis from high-profile attorneys at top firms.
A collection of eBook law treatises and study aids from LexisNexis, including a wide selection of Matthew Bender treatises. To borrow and read these ebooks, current members of the NYLS community should sign in using their network credentials. Alumni and other Library guests may read and borrow the ebooks from on-campus computers by clicking on the designated button.
The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926 (Gale)
Access to over 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. It offers various retrieval and browsing options, including full-text searching on more than 10 million pages. Digital images of every page of every work can be viewed, printed and downloaded.
The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, 1620-1926 (Gale)
This database spans over 300 years of legal primary sources, such as early U.S. state codes, city charters, constitutional conventions and compilations, and other documents, sourced chiefly from the Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale University, with additional materials provided by the Law Library of Congress.
The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources II, 1763-1970 (Gale)
This database covers legal and social history from the 18th century to the era following World War II. It includes United States state and territorial codes, municipal codes, and constitutional convention and compilations, drawn from the collections of the Harvard Law School Library, Yale Law Library, and the Law Library of Congress.
The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926 (Gale)
A digital collection of more than 10,000 titles describing courtroom dramas published between 1600 and 1926. Included in the collection are unofficially published trial accounts, official trial documents, administrative proceedings, and arbitrations derived from primary source documents located in the law libraries of Yale University, Harvard University, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York.
The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Comprehensive access to information by and about the United States Congress, as well as United States legislative history. Includes legislation and public policy, statistical information including projections and analyses, federal regulations, voting and financial records for individual members as well as members of various congressional committees.
Devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research, SSRN is composed of a number of specialized research networks in law and the social sciences. SSRN's Legal Scholarship Network consists of an abstracts database and an Electronic Paper Collection containing thousands of downloadable full text documents in PDF format.