Free & Low Cost Legal Research

Customize and focus your search query with Google Advanced Search.

Google is working with several major libraries: Universities of California, Michigan, Wisconsin, Harvard, Oxford, Stanford, and New York Public to digitize their collections. A search result provides basic bibliographic information about the book and a few sentences around your search term in context. You may see the entire book if it is out of copyright.

A computer-generated news site that aggregates headlines from news sources worldwide, groups similar stories together and displays them according to each reader's personalized interests.

Google Scholar provides free access to legal cases and the Bluebook citation for each case. Coverage includes published opinions of U.S. state appellate and supreme court cases since 1950, U.S. federal district, appellate, tax and bankruptcy courts since 1923 and U.S. Supreme Court cases since 1791. Also includes citations for cases cited by indexed opinions or journal articles. Use the "How Cited" feature to see how your case has been cited. Google Scholar makes no guarantees regarding currency and is most likely not as current as other paid subscription databases.

Also includes, cross-discipline literature searches including depositories of peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Browse the search operators available in Google.

Originally known as Ask Jeeves and specialized in natural language search, Ask.com is a question-answering web based search engine.

Developed by Microsoft, it provides a standard web search, as well as specialized searches for images, videos, shopping, news, and maps.

Yahoo is an internet portal, with a search engine powered by Bing.