This is the "Welcome" page of the "Law School 411: Books & Films on Law & Law School" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Law School 411: Books & Films on Law & Law School  

This multimedia bibliography is for students thinking about law school and for current students who are looking for books, movies, and websites about law school and the law.
Last Updated: Aug 12, 2016 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Welcome Print Page

Search the Catalog

Search the Mendik Library Catalog to find find books, electronic databases, web sites and other materials.


Legal News from the ABA Journal

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Wall Street Journal Law Blog

Loading Loading...
blank padding


LAW SCHOOL 411: Books & Films on Law & Law School is a multimedia bibliography for students thinking about law school, and for current students who are looking for books, movies, and websites about law school and the law. The listings run the gamut from lawyers in popular culture to inspiring stories of social justice and law to excelling in law school.  Click on any tab (above) to view the resources listed in each section.



Current Highlight

Cover Art
The Law Book - Michael H. Roffer
Call Number: K150 .R64 2015
ISBN: 1454901683
Publication Date: November 3, 2015
Join author Michael H. Roffer as he explores 250 of the most fundamental, far-reaching, and often-controversial cases, laws, and trials that have profoundly changed our world—for good or bad. Offering authoritative context to ancient documents as well as today’s hot-button issues, The Law Book presents a comprehensive look at the rules by which we live our lives. It covers such diverse topics as the Code of Hammurabi, the Ten Commandments, the Trial of Socrates, the Bill of Rights, women’s suffrage, the insanity defense, and more. Roffer takes us around the globe to ancient Rome and medieval England before transporting us forward to contemporary accounts that tackle everything from civil rights, surrogacy, and assisted suicide to the 2000 U.S. presidential election, Google Books, and the fight for marriage equality.

Organized chronologically, the entries each consist of a short essay and a stunning full-color image, while the “Notes and Further Reading” section provides resources for more in-depth study. Justice may be blind, but this collection brings the rich history of the law to light.

Cover Art
The Legal Analyst - Ward Farnsworth
Call Number: K212 .F37 2007
ISBN: 0226238350
Publication Date: 2007-06-15
This book is a very accessible introduction to the major ideas of modern legal thinking and a useful survey of current thinking in the field. It covers an extraordinarily broad range of topics in a limited space and is very clearly written, studded with interesting examples and observations. It can profitably be read by law students, lawyers, and lay people with an interest in the legal system.

Cover Art
Chasing Gideon - Karen Houppert
Call Number: KF336 H68 2013
ISBN: 9781595588692
Publication Date: 2013
On March 18, 1963 the U.S. Supreme Court decided the landmark case of Gideon v. Wainwright. The Court unanimously ruled that all defendants facing significant jail time have the constitutional right to a free attorney if they cannot afford their own. In "Chasing Gideon" Karen Houppert chronicles the stories of people in all parts of the country who have relied on Gideon's promise. "Chasing Gideon" provides crucial insight into our attempts to implement this fundamental constitutional right.

We Welcome Your Suggestions

Read a good book, website or blog about the law lately?  Seen a good law-related movie or television show?  We encourage you to submit suggested books, websites, blogs, movies or television shows that we can add to this guide.

Download our free Mendik Mobile App

Profile Image
For more information, ask a reference librarian
Contact Info
Send Email

Meet your Library Director

Profile Image
Camille Broussard

Contact Information

AIM: nylslib 
Google Talk:

Text a Librarian: 917.300.1933


Interlibrary Loan

Library hours


Mendik Matters

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Loading  Loading...