This is the "Home" page of the "Exam Preparation Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Jan 29, 2014 URL: http://libguides.nyls.edu/exam_preparation_resources Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

I. New York Law School Exam Archive on the NYLS Portal

The sample and practice exam archive consists of exams released to the Library by NYLS faculty. Please note that professors are not required to release exams to the Library, and many choose not to do so. Consequently, you may not be able to find an exam for either your class or your professor.

Sample and practice exams are indexed by professor’s name and course taught.

All exams are in Adobe PDF format and are viewed using the free Adobe Acrobat Reader, which has been installed on all PCs in the Library and the Electronic Research Classrooms.

Paper copies of sample and practice exams for the current semester only are kept at the Circulation Desk.

The exam archive is maintained by the Circulation Department. Questions regarding available exams should be directed to Elina Oyola, Circulation Librarian, at 212.431.2148, or by email at: elina.oyola@nyls.edu.

To access the exam archive on the NYLS Portal:

- Login to the NYLS portal

- On the portal home page, locate the Student Resources drop down menu

- Click on the Exam Archive link

 

III. CALI Lessons and Advice About Exam-Taking Skills

The CALI Library of Lessons is a collection of over 950 interactive, web-based tutorials covering 35 legal education subject areas, which will run on both your desktop computer and mobile device. Each lesson focuses on a specific aspect of a legal topic, asks questions in a variety of formats and then provides immediate feedback.

You can either download lessons from the CALI site, or pick up a lesson CD at the Reference Desk. 

Please note that you must register to use CALI lessons. Registration will allow you to create your own password to use the lessons. In order to register, you will need an authorization code, which can be obtained from the Library's CALI page.

To access CALI lessons about exam-taking skills, first log in to CALI.  Then, click the Lessons link on the upper left side of the screen. Select By Topic and, under 1L - First Year Lesson Topic, select Legal Concepts and Skills

Scroll down to the lesson(s) of your choice among the following:

Exam Taking Skills, Outlines, and Advice for Law Students: Panel 1 PodCast
Ron Eades, John Farago, Patrick Wiseman

Exam Taking Skills, Outlines, and Advice for Law Students: Panel 2 PodCast
Ron Brown and Joe Grohman

Exam Taking Skills, Outlines, and Advice for Law Students: Panel 3 PodCast
Darryl Wilson

Preparing for Your First Semester of Law School
Joseph Grohman and Ronald Brown

Tips for Multiple Choice Exams in Law School Podcast
Scott Burnham

Top 10 Tips for Successfully Writing a Law School Essay
Jennifer Martin

Writing Better Law School Exams: The Importance of Structure
William Andersen

CALI also offers an index of lessons by casebook. See if your casebook is available. Then click your casebook to see which lessons correspond with specific pages in the book.

 

V. Exams from Other Law Schools on the Internet

Writing answers to professors’ old final exams is an excellent way for students to prepare for exams. It can also be helpful to look at other law school exams that are available online. A few law schools/law libraries maintain freely available collections of their school’s exams:

 

VII. Additional Resources

Examples & Explanations study guides.  Many of these study guides are available via Google Books. Often, a large portion of the text will be available via preview.

Hornbooks and treatises, See NYLS's Treatises by Topic or our New York Treatises by Topic pages.

New York State Bar Exam: Past Exam Essay Questions with Sample Candidate Answers (2005-2013).

 

Contact the Library

The Mendik Library | New York Law School
185 West Broadway, New York, NY 10013
Contact Information: Reference Desk | Circulation | AIM: NYLSLIB | GoogleTalk:NYLSLIB Yahoo: NYLSLIB | 212.431.2332 | SMS: 917.300.1933
Facebook | Mobile site
 

Books about Exams and Law School Success

See also, Law School 411: Books & Films on Law & Law School

Cover Art
Law School Success: a guide to studying law and taking law school exams - Ann Burkhart; Robert Stein
Call Number: KF283 .B87 2008 (Reserve)
ISBN: 9780314167798
Publication Date: 2008-04-08


Cover Art
Writing essay exams to succeed in law school (not just to survive) - John C. Dernbach
Call Number: KF283 .D47 2010
ISBN: 9780735591882
Publication Date: 2009-11-19

Cover Art
Getting to Maybe : how to excel on law school exams - Richard Michael Fischl; Jeremy Paul
Call Number: KF283 .F57 1999 (Reserve)
ISBN: 0890897603
Publication Date: 1999-05-01

Cover Art
Open Book: succeeding on exams from the first day of law school - Barry Friedman; John Goldberg
Call Number: KF283 .F75 2011
ISBN: 9781454806073
Publication Date: 2011-07-26

Cover Art
Law School Exams : a guide to better grades - Alex Schimel
Call Number: KF283 .S335 2012
ISBN: 9781611630596
Publication Date: 2012-01-01

Cover Art
Strategies & tactics for the first year law student : maximize your grades - Kimm Alayne Walton; Lazar Emanuel
Call Number: KF283 .W352 1997 (Reserve)
ISBN: 1565425774
Publication Date: 1997-06-01

Cover Art
Law School Exams : preparing and writing to win - Charles R. Calleros
Call Number: KF283 .C35 2007
ISBN: 9780735563568
Publication Date: 2007-05-11

Cover Art
Starting off Right in Law School - Carolyn J. Nygren
Call Number: KF273 .N94 1997
ISBN: 0890898774
Publication Date: 1997-06-01

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip