This is the "Home" page of the "Electronic Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Subscription services and databases that are available for access by current NYLS students, faculty and staff
Last Updated: Sep 28, 2014 URL: http://libguides.nyls.edu/eresources Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Introduction

This is a list of subscription services and databases that are available for access by current NYLS students, faculty and staff at computers both inside and outside the NYLS complex. When logging in from a remote location, you will be prompted for your name and your Library barcode number, located on the back of your NYLS ID.

If you need help with your Mendik Library barcode, please contact Elina Oyola, Circulation Librarian (212.431.2148). If you have questions or are experiencing difficulties connecting to a database, please contact the Mendik Library Reference Desk: 

  • Voice: 212.431.2332
  • Email: reference@nyls.edu
  • Text us: 917.300.1933
  • AIM: nylslib
  • Google Talk: nylslib@gmail.com
  • Yahoo Messenger: nylslib
      

    A TO Z List of Resources

    Click on Blue Letters below to jump to that section of the alphabet:

    A | B | C | E | F | G | H | I | J  | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W |

        

      "A" Resources

      • AALL Library (HeinOnline)
        A collection of journals and newsletters published by the American Association of Law Libraries.
      • ABA/BNA Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct (Bloomberg BNA)
        A source for news and guidance on virtually every aspect of attorney conduct and legal ethics. The Manual is organized into four main sections: the Practice Guides, Ethics Rules, Current Reports, and Ethics Opinions. Contains the full text of every ABA ethics opinion issued from 1986 onward, digests of state and local ethics opinions from 1986 to the present, and links to state Web sites for the full text of state ethics rules and opinions.
      • The American Lawyer (ALM)
        A leading daily news source covering legal business, law firms, and lawyers across the U.S. and around the world.
      • The American Lawyer website
        The American Lawyer’s website provides links to the most recent six months' cases, articles and columns in full text. Earlier content is available on Lexis.
      • The American Lawyer (Lexis Advance)
        LexisNexis provides the full text of most American Lawyer content, back to 1995.
      • The American Lawyer - daily news alerts
        To sign up for newsletters, click here, and sign up while on campus. Use your nyls.edu email account to sign up for daily news alerts. If you have already set up a password for any other ALM news alerts, please enter that password. If not you will need to create one.
      • American State Papers, 1789-1838 (Readex)
      • Archive of Americana (Readex)
        This family of historical collections contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries. Use the links below to search or browse a single collection, or do full-text searches across multiple collections: American State Papers, 1789-1838; U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 and Serial Set Maps, 1817-1980.
      • Attorney General Opinions (Hein Online)

      "B" Resources

      "C" Resources

      • CCH IntelliConnect
      • Checkpoint (Thomson Reuters)
        An electronic tax research service which provides access to primary tax law sources as well as editorial content and explanations of tax law. It includes access to the Internal Revenue Code, Treasury Regulations, Court cases, IRS rulings, and proposed legislation. It also includes a citator which provides information about subsequent citations of authority.
      • Code of Federal Regulations (HeinOnline)
      • Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
        Source for theory and research in international affairs. CIAO publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
      • Columbia Journal of European Law (HeinOnline)
        This journal covers contemporary topics in European law, including the law of the European Union, law at the national or regional levels, and jurisprudential questions relevant to the development of law and legal institutions in Europe.

        BACK TO TOP

      "E" Resources

      "F" Resources

      • Fastcase
        Comparable in many ways to Lexis and Westlaw, this is a legal research service that offers full-text searchable access to comprehensive libraries of federal and state cases, statutes, constitutions, court rules, administrative regulations, and attorney general opinions. The service includes libraries of newspapers, federal court filings, and legal forms.
      • Federal Register (HeinOnline)
      • Foreign & International Law Resources Database (HeinOnline)
        A collection of yearbooks, journals and proceedings and reports from around the world.. It also includes U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions and more.
      • Foreign Law Guide (Reynolds and Flores)
        A good starting point for information on the legal systems of foreign countries.
      • Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)(HeinOnline)
        Presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. It is comprised of more than 500 books beginning with Abraham Lincoln's administration in 1861 and continuing to the administration of Richard Nixon/Gerald Ford in 1976.

        BACK TO TOP

      "G" Resources

      • Google Scholar
        Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles. Using this link gives you extra functionality in linking to full-text services that the library subscribes to (JSTOR and HeinOnline).

      "H" Resources

      • Harvard Research in International Law (Hein Online)
        Includes draft conventions and background papers on 13 areas of international law, which were prepared in anticipation of the largely unsuccessful League of Nations Codification Conference, and published as special supplements to the American Journal of International Law. Topics include nationality, state liability for damage to foreign nationals, territorial waters, competence of courts v. states as parties, piracy, extradition, criminal jurisdiction, and treaties.
      • HeinOnline
        A PDF-based collection of law review articles and a wide variety of other legal materials. The service is best known for its Law Journal Library which contains back runs of more than 1,100 journal titles, in most cases beginning with the first issue of each journal. HeinOnline's coverage has expanded to include archival libraries of federal and state primary law, federal legislative histories, U.S. treaties, foreign and international law sources, and classic American law treatises. Coverage continues to expand. Each library is full-text searchable, and search results are PDF files that can be printed and downloaded.
      • The History of Bankruptcy: Taxation and Economic Reform in America, Part III (Hein Online)
        Focuses on bankruptcy in America and includes legislative histories, treatises, documents, classic works and scholarly articles.

        BACK TO TOP

      "I" Resources

      • Immigration Law and Policy in the U.S. (HeinOnline)
        A compilation of the historical documents and legislation related to immigration in the United States as well as current hearings, debates and recent developments in immigration law. This comprehensive database includes BIA Precedent Decisions, legislative histories, law and policy titles, extradition titles, scholarly articles, an extensive bibliography, and related works.
      • Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (Hein Online)
        Provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions other than the United States, the U.K., Canada, and Australia. IFLP also analyzes the contents of approximately eighty individually published collections of legal essays, Festschriften, Mélanges, and congress reports each year.
      • Index to Legal Periodicals (EBSCO)
        The Index to Legal Periodicals consists of two databases:
      • Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text (1994-)
        Provides complete coverage of the most important English language legal information, with international coverage of scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews and more. Full text is available for over 400 periodicals, many of them peer-reviewed.
      • Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981
        a retrospective database that indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Content is also drawn from 38 printed compendia, which provides access to approximately 540,000 records. Coverage also includes: annual surveys of laws by jurisdiction; annual surveys of federal court cases; yearbooks and annual institutes.
      • Intellectual Property Resource Center (Bloomberg BNA)
        Provides the full text of all decisions reported in United States Patents Quarterly from 1929 to the present, combined with finding aids to facilitate the search process. Includes federal statutes and regulations on patent, copyright, and related matters. Incorporates the full text of the treatise, Patents & the Federal Circuit as well as the weekly Patent, Trademark and Copyright Journal.
      • IntelliConnect (Wolters Kluwer)
        Contains primary and secondary tax and business sources found in a variety of CCH publications such as the Standard Federal Tax Reporter, the Federal Securities Law Reporter and many others. The materials duplicate the coverage of print looseleaf services, while surpassing the looseleafs with electronic search features. Subjects include federal tax, state tax, securities, commodities futures and derivatives regulation, corporate governance, investment management, mergers and acquisitions, international business, federal banking law, antitrust and trade regulation, insurance litigation, products liability and safety, government contracts, federal energy law, transportation law, intellectual property, computer and internet law. CCH recommends using Internet Explorer.

        BACK TO TOP

      "J" Resources

      • JSTOR (The Scholarly Journal Archive)
        Full-text articles from a thousand academic journals in the arts and sciences, political science, statistics, economics, business, and philosophy, excluding the issues from the last few years. Included articles are searchable in full text, and retrievable in PDF format.

        BACK TO TOP

      "L" Resources

      • Law360 (Lexis Advance)
        A daily news service that covers high-stakes litigation in a wide variety of practice areas; real-time tracking and reports on thousands companies, firms and industries; and expert analysis from high-profile attorneys at top firms. You must login to Lexis Advance to use this service.
      • Law.com (ALM)
        ALM’s portal for timely legal news and analysis. The site provides access to stories from eighteen of ALM’s national and regional publications – including the National Law Journal, the American Lawyer, and the New York Law Journal – with the opportunity to view news by practice area. Each practice area offers a rich selection of articles, curated by ALM’s editorial staff. In addition, the site features views submitted by legal practitioners to the Law.com Contributor Network.
      • Law Journal Library (HeinOnline)
        Contains more than 1,620 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers.
      • Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct (Bloomberg BNA)
      • Legal Classics Library (HeinOnline)
        A collection of treatises in law and related subjects, full-text searchable in PDF format. Most of the treatises date from the 19th through the mid-20th centuries.
      • Legal Scholarship Network (SSRN)
      • LegalTrac (Legal Resource Index)
        Offers indexing for all major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty law publications, bar association journals and thousands of law-related articles from general interest publications. Also includes the full text of selected journal articles in PDF format.
      • Legislative History
      • LexisNexis
      • LexisNexis Congressional
      • LLMC Digital
        A digital archive of government documents and other out-of-copyright literature of interest to researchers in law and history, derived from the Law Library Microform Consortium's backfile of more than 90,000 volumes. The archive is currently divided into federal executive, judicial and legislative collections, each separately searchable in various ways, including full text. As volumes are transformed from microfiche into digital images, the archive will ultimately grow to encompass LLMC's entire backfile.

        BACK TO TOP

      "M" Resources

      "N" Resources

      • National Academy of Continuing Legal Education
        A nationwide provider of accredited continuing legal education, NACLE offers online courses on a wide variety of legal subjects. To access the login and password, click here.
      • National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
        The National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The Bureau concentrates on four types of empirical research: developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, assessing the effects of public policies on the U.S. economy, and projecting the effects of alternative policy proposals. This database offers working papers in PDF format covering diverse areas such as corporate finance, health and health care, international finance, trade and investment, labor, technology as well papers devoted to the historical development of the American economy.
      • National Law Journal (ALM)
        Legal news for practitioners, from the business and private sectors, including reporting on law-related events, practitioners’ columns, federal court opinions, verdicts, and reports of pending legislation.
      • National Law Journal website
        The NLJ's website provides links to the most recent six months' cases, articles and columns in full text. Earlier content is available on Lexis.
      • National Law Journal (Lexis Advance)
        LexisNexis provides the full text of most NLJ content, back to 1983.
      • National Law Journal (ALM) - daily news alerts
        To sign up for newsletters, click here, and sign up while on campus. Use your nyls.edu email account to sign up for daily news alerts. If you have already set up a password for any other ALM news alerts, please enter that password. If not you will need to create one.
      • National Moot Court Competition Library (HeinOnline)
        This collection offers digital access to the records, briefs, and related organizational materials from the 1st to the most recent (1950-current) annual National Moot Court Competitions.
      • NetLibrary
        See eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
      • New Jersey Law Journal (ALM)
        An official source for all state and federal court notices, the NJLJ also provides reports and digests of court decisions, substantive law articles by attorneys expert in their fields, and reporting on items of interest to the New Jersey Bar.
      • New Jersey Law Journal website
        The NJLJ's website provides links to the most recent six months' cases, articles and columns in full text. Earlier content is available on Lexis.
      • New Jersey Law Journal (Lexis Advance)
        provides the full text of most NJLJ content, back to 1990
      • New Jersey Law Journal - daily news alerts
        To sign up for newsletters, click here, and sign up while on campus. Use your nyls.edu email account to sign up for daily news alerts. If you have already set up a password for any other ALM news alerts, please enter that password. If not you will need to create one.
      • New York City Charter & Administrative Code
        Contains the text of the laws enacted by the New York State legislature, City Council and New York City electors and notes of decisions, practice commentaries,historical and statutory notes & other research references. To access the login and password, click here.
      • New York Court of Appeals Records and Briefs (2001 - current) (HeinOnline)
      • New York Law Journal (ALM)
        The premier legal newspaper for New York City and the paper of record for New York's First and Second Departments, the NYLJ publishes selected cases of interest, news items of interest to the local Bar, and columns devoted to practitioners’ interests. Although it has been published since 1888, electronic archives of NYLJ content cover only recent decades.
      • New York Law Journal website
        The NYLJ's website provides links to the most recent six months' cases, articles and columns in full text. Earlier content is available on Lexis.
      • New York Law Journal (Lexis Advance)
        LexisNexis provides the full text of most NYLJ content, back to 1990.
      • New York Law Journal - daily news alerts
        To sign up for newsletters, click here, and sign up while on campus. Use your nyls.edu email account to sign up for daily news alerts. If you have already set up a password for any other ALM news alerts, please enter that password. If not you will need to create one.
      • New York Law Journal Digital Microform
        A "Digital Microform" archive of NYLJ issues covers back to 2009. This archive is not full-text searchable. You must first select the NYLJ, and then enter the year, month and date of the issue you need.
      • New York Red Book
        Basic information about the New York State's executive, legislative and judicial information branches. To access the login and password, click here.

        BACK TO TOP

      "O" Resources

      • Oxford English Dictionary
        The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
      • Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History
        Covers all aspects of legal history throughout the world from ancient to modern times. Major categories of law explained in detail include private law (contract, tort, civil procedure), public law (statutory, criminal, etc.), and higher or constitutional law.
      • Oxford Islamic Studies Online
        Oxford Islamic Studies Online includes 3,000 A-Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, and primary sources. Users can search and browse by era, topic, and geographic region. There are biographical entries, timelines, lists of suggested reading, primary sources, terms in the Qur'an and Concordance, and more.

        BACK TO TOP

      "P" Resources

      • Philip C. Jessup Library (HeinOnline)
        The collection includes the annual compendia of the Jessup International Law Moot Court competition, beginning in 1960, as well as journals published by the International Law Student Association.
      • ProQuest Congressional
        Comprehensive access to information by and about the United States Congress, as well as United States legislative history. Includes legislation and public policy, statistical information including projections and analyses, federal regulations, voting and financial records for individual members as well as members of various congressional committees.

        BACK TO TOP

      "R" Resources

      • Rules of the City of New York/New York City Rules & Regulations
        The official compilation of all of the rules and regulations enacted by New York City agencies and departments. To access the login and password, click here.

        BACK TO TOP

      "S" Resources

      "T" Resources

      • Taxation & Economic Reform in America: A Historical Archive, 1781-2009 (HeinOnline)
      • Tax and Accounting Center (Bloomberg BNA)
        Bloomberg BNA offers expert analysis and practice tools in U.S. income, estates gifts and trusts, and foreign income taxation.
      • Tax Analysts
      • State Tax Today (Tax Analysts)
        Provides comprehensive news and analysis of current state and multistate taxation issues.
      • Tax Notes Today (Tax Analysts)
        The Tax Notes Today (TNT) database publishes the latest news and analysis about tax developments at the federal level. News stories cover Congress, the IRS, the courts, and the bar. TNT also publishes supporting documents such as texts of legislation, court opinions, regulations, IRS rulings, and press releases. In addition there is a Commentary & Analysis section which features news analysis and expert commentary from tax practitioners, government officials, academics, and experts on the Tax Analysts staff. TNT includes news and documents back to 1993.
      • Worldwide Tax Daly (Tax Analysts)
        Provides statutes, regulations, new rulings, treaties and court decisions from around the world. It also includes an online archive of articles written by international tax experts going back to 1989.
      • Worldwide Tax Treaties
        Includes over 9000 tax treaties, amending protocols, and similar documents from over 181 jurisdictions. In addition to comprehensive treaties concerning taxes on income and capital, the collection also includes estate and gift tax treaties, limited agreements, model tax treaties, and more.
      • Thomson Reuters Checkpoint
        An electronic tax research service which provides access to primary tax law sources as well as editorial content and explanations of tax law. It includes access to the Internal Revenue Code, Treasury Regulations, Court cases, IRS rulings, and proposed legislation. It also includes a citator which provides information about subsequent citations of authority.
      • Treaties and Agreements Library (HeinOnline)
        A comprehensive collection that includes UST, TIAS, as well as other official and unofficial U.S. treaty sources, indexes, guides, and treatises.

        BACK TO TOP

      "U" Resources

      "W" Resources

      • Westlaw
      • World Constitutions Illustrated (Hein Online)
        Contains the current constitution for 193 countries, constitutional histories for the United Kingdom, France, Brazil and Colombia, books, online resources and scholarly articles about constitutional development.
      • World Trials Library (HeinOnline)
        Includes accounts and transcripts of hundreds of trials from the Cornell University Law Library's research collection.
      • Worldwide Tax Daily (Tax Analysts)
        The Worldwide Tax Daily database provides practitioners with daily news and tax-related documents from over 180 countries and multinational organizations, including U.S. federal information concerning international tax issues. The Worldwide Tax Daily also includes an international Commentary & Analysis feature.
      • Worldwide Tax Treaties (Tax Analysts)
        Tax Analysts' Worldwide Tax Treaties collection includes over 9000 tax treaties, amending protocols, and similar documents from over 181 jurisdictions. In addition to comprehensive treaties concerning taxes on income and capital, the collection also includes estate and gift tax treaties, limited agreements, model tax treaties, and more.

        BACK TO TOP
       

      Contact the Library

      The Mendik Library | New York Law School
      185 West Broadway, New York, NY 10013
      Contact Information: Reference Desk | Circulation | AIM: NYLSLIB | GoogleTalk:NYLSLIB Yahoo: NYLSLIB | 212.431.2332 | SMS: 917.300.1933
      Facebook | Mobile site
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip