This database includes all compilations for major laws with the following exceptions: appropriations measures; ceremonial matters; laws that extend the life of an agency or authority; and laws that affect small numbers of persons or specific regions of the country. The sources for these compilations include congressional documents, legal periodicals, treatises and looseleaf services. Click here for instructions on using the U.S. Federal Legislative History Library to find House and Senate Reports.
This historical collections contains government documents and other materials printed in America over three centuries. American State Papers, 1789-1838 includes legislative and executive documents, many originating between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817. The U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817 - 1980 and Serial Set Maps, 1817-1980 contain reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives and maps published in the Serial Set.
This database contains constitutional conventions and compilations (reports, journals, proceedings, and debates, and supplementary documents published by the conventions including, manuals, rules of order, and information for the use of delegates); city charters ; law dictionaries; and early U.S. state codes. Primary Sources will also include colonial records from the Primary Source Microfilm collection Published Records of the American Colonies.
The United States Statutes at Large, commonly referred to as the Statutes at Large, is the official source for the laws and resolutions passed by Congress. This database includes the entire archive of the U.S. Statutes at Large from 1789 to 2007.
This collection includes all published series of debates of Congress, as well as several other series and documents related to Congress, including American State Papers. HeinOnline has put together a Quick Reference Guide for using the U.S. Congressional Documents collection.
Find the Congressional Record, Congressional calendars, bills, hearings, reports and other Congressional documents, as well as the United States Code, Statutes at Large, public & private laws, among other things.
A wealth of current and historical legislative information is available for free online.