This is the "Mobile Apps" page of the "Mobile Apps for Law Students" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mobile Apps for Law Students  

Last Updated: Sep 9, 2016 URL: http://libguides.nyls.edu/Mobileapps Print Guide RSS Updates
Mobile Apps Print Page
  Search: 
 

Other Helpful Mobile App Guides

 

Contact Information

Reference:
212.431.2332
reference@nyls.edu
AIM: nylslib 
Google Talk: nylslib@gmail.comCirculation:

212.431.2333
circulation@nyls.edu

Library Hours

 

Introduction

This research guide provides a sampling of popular legal apps available to law students and practicing attorneys.  Please check back regularly for new additions.

 

Legal Research

Cover Art
WestlawNext
Access WestlawNext from your mobile device. Available for iPad and Android devices. Free with a WestlawNext subscription.

Cover Art
Lexis Advance
Access Lexis Advance from your mobile device. Available on the App Store for iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch - requires iOS 5.0 or later. Free with a Lexis Advance subscription.

Cover Art
Bloomberg Law
Access Bloomberg Law from your mobile device. Available on the App Store and Google Play. Free with a Bloomberg Law subscription.

Cover Art
Fastcase
The Fastcase app provides a FREE searchable library of cases and statutes. Available for iPhone, iPad and Android devices.

Cover Art
HeinOnline App
Access HeinOnline content from your mobile device. Free with a HeinOnline subscription. While on campus, click the “IP Authentication” button to access content through NYLS’s subscription. Once IP authenticated, your mobile device will be able to access HeinOnline from anywhere for 30 days. You will need to re-authenticate after the 30 day time period. You can access documents by citation, browse by volume, navigate to a specific page using the electronic table of contents, or search for content using an advanced search tool. Available on the App Store for iPhone, iPod touch and iPad.

Cover Art
Rulebook
Provides mobile access to federal and state court rules. Helpful features include the ability to search for keywords and phrases and highlight and annotate text. Although the app is free, you'll need to make in-app purchases to access most content. Regular updates are provided.

In addition, a full-text searchable BLUEBOOK is also available from Rulebook as an in-app purchase for $39.99.

Available on the App Store for iPhone, iPad and iPod touch.

Cover Art
LawBox
Provides statutes and court rules for seven states (including New York) and federal law. The following content is free to download:

Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure
Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure
Federal Rules of Evidence
Constitution of the United States

Additional content is available with an in-app purchase of $4.99.

Available on the App Store for iPhone, iPod Touch and iPad. Content is updated every January.

Cover Art
LawStack
LawStack comes preloaded with the US Constitution, Federal Rules of Federal of Civil Procedure, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, Federal Rules of Evidence, Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure and Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure. Additional content available with an in-app purchase.

Available on the App Store for iPhone, iPad and iPod touch.

Cover Art
Nolo's Plain English Law Dictionary
A free law dictionary containing almost 4,000 legal terms. Nolo is a publisher that produces legal resources more easily accessible to non-lawyers on a number of topics.

Available on the App Store for iPhone, iPad and iPod touch.

 

Productivity / Study Tools

Cover Art
LexisNexis Law School Q&A Series
You can now prepare for exams in 28 subject areas on your mobile device with the popular Q&A exam prep series. Each title can be purchased for $19.99.
Available for iPhone, iPad, iPod touch and Android devices.

Cover Art
Dropbox
Dropbox allows you to easily share and access files online and on multiple computers. Create a free Dropbox account and eliminate the need to e-mail yourself documents to view on another computer.

Camera to PDF
Take a picture of text and email the PDF or save it to your Dropbox. Although app is free, a fee is required to access enhanced features. Available on the App Store for the iPhone, iPad and iPod touch.

 

Current Awareness

For additional mobile apps that will help you stay up-to-date in your new field of law, check out our Mobile Apps tab of our Current Awareness Sources guide.

Cover Art
ABA Journal
Access breaking legal news from the ABA Journal on your mobile device. The ABA Journal’s free app is available for iPad, iPhone, iPod Touch and Android (2.1 or above) devices.

Cover Art
Blooomberg BNA Law Reports
Access Bloomberg BNA Law Reports from your mobile device. The app stores up to 200 current articles per Law Report for later access. The App is free with a current subscription. Available on the App Store for iPhone, iPad and iPod touch.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip