Borrowing from the Mendik LibraryAccess to Other LibrariesInter-Library-Loan (ILL)
This is the "Welcome" page of the "Law Review Guide to the Mendik Library 2013 - 2014" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Law Review Guide to the Mendik Library 2013 - 2014  

This guide is intended for members of the NYLS Law Review.
Last Updated: Jul 11, 2014 URL: http://libguides.nyls.edu/MendikLawReviewGuide Print Guide RSS Updates

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Mendik Matters

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Library Catalog / Locations

 

Download our free Mendik Mobile app

 

Introduction

Located in the law school's new building at 185 West Broadway, the Mendik Library provides comfortable research and study facilities for students and faculty. It houses more than 500,000 volumes of books, microforms, and audio/visual materials. The fully air conditioned physical facilities include study carrels and tables, lounge seating, and meeting rooms for study groups. A range of sophisticated computer research services and other technological enhancements augment the Library’s superb book collection.

Housed in the Library are several computer labs and training rooms with workstations for Internet access and computer-assisted research. Wireless network access is also available in all Library areas. The major computer legal research database vendors, LexisNexis and Westlaw, have installations in the Library, offering training and support. In addition, the Library subscribes to an ever-growing number of electronic research products, including HeinOnline, Making of Modern Law, ProQuest Congressional, Bloomberg Law and JSTOR. Our reference librarians are fully trained in all of the computer-based research systems, and offer Library users both personal assistance and training.

The Library’s Online Catalog, automated acquisitions, serials, and circulation control systems provide easy and comprehensive access to the Library’s collections. To maximize the range of materials and facilities available to students and faculty, the Library has joined several library consortia. Our participation in these consortia enables us to arrange access for our students and faculty to other research and academic libraries throughout the New York Metropolitan area. Through JILP, the Joint International Law Project, we provide access to a unified research collection of international and comparative law materials, housed in our Library and two other local law libraries. Using bibliographic databases, librarians can locate and arrange for the interlibrary loan of materials from academic, court, public and private libraries throughout New York and the United States.

Library staff members are available seven days a week, days and evenings, to assist members of the law school community with research problems and to direct them to the most current materials in their particular areas of study. The full-time staff of twenty-three includes twelve professional librarians, seven of whom hold J.D. degrees. The Library works closely with the faculty, the Legal Practice, the law school journals, and moot court students and staff to coordinate programs and to insure that the challenging studying, researching, and writing needs of the NYLS community are met.

Hours of Operation

Regular Library hours during the Fall and Spring semesters:

Monday-Thursday 8:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.

Friday 8:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Saturday & Sunday 10:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Hours are increased during exam periods, and decreased somewhat during holidays and summers. Changes in Library hours are announced in advance. Click link below for up to the minute schedules.

Call Number Locations

When using the catalog it is important to note both the Call Number (which classifies the title by subject and never changes) and the Location (which gives the physical location of the book within the library and which can change) of the item you want. 

Some locations, such as Reference (L1), Reserve (L1) and Microforms (L2) are contained on a single floor.  Others, such as Periodicals (L1 and L4) and Bookstacks (L2, L3 & L4) are more spread out.

Use the link below to see all library locations as well as the breakdown of the Bookstacks collection by call number.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Michael McCarthy
Contact Info
Send Email
 

Contact Information

Reference:
212.431.2332
reference@nyls.edu
AIM: nylslib 
Google Talk: nylslib@gmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: nylslib

Circulation:
212.431.2333
circulation@nyls.edu

Interlibrary Loan
212.431.2149
interlibraryloan@nyls.edu

Library hours

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip